Deek and Jon top the local honours list

Jon StanhopeMARATHON running legend Robert DeCastella and former Chief Minister Jon Stanhope (pictured), have been appointed Officers of the Order of Australia in the Australia Day honours list.

Other well-known locals honoured include University of Canberra Vice-Chancellor Stephen Parker (AO), television journalist Paul Bongiorno (AM), former Liberal Opposition Leader Bill Stefaniak, Olympic gold medalist swimmer Alicia Coutts and Paralympic gold medalist Susan Powell.

Local awardees include:


Air Marshal Mark Donald BINSKIN AO, for eminent service to the Australian Defence Force as Chief of Air Force and Vice Chief of the Defence Force.


Robert Ian CAMPBELL PSM, Nicholls, for distinguished service to public administration through innovative policy development, reform and administration at the national level, particularly the provision of services for veterans and their families.

Robert de CASTELLA MBE, Mawson, for distinguished service to the community through programs promoting children’s health and fitness, as a supporter and mentor of young indigenous men and women, and to marathon running.

Emeritus Professor Ronald Charles DUNCAN, Yarralumla, for distinguished service to international relations as a leading economist, and through innovative economic policy development to raise living standards in Papua New Guinea and Pacific Island nations.

Dr Susan Denise MEEK, for distinguished service to science, to the development and implementation of policy for science and research, particularly gene technology regulation, and through leadership roles with professional organisations.

Dr Sadanandan E K NAMBIAR, Hawker, for distinguished service to science, particularly in the field of sustainable productivity and management of forests, as a researcher and author, and as a role model for young scientists.

Professor Stephen John PARKER, Bruce, for distinguished service to tertiary education through administrative, academic and representational roles, and as a leader in the growth and development of the University of Canberra.

The Honourable Jonathan Donald STANHOPE, Christmas Island, for distinguished service to the community of the ACT through leadership roles, to the advancement of human rights and social justice, and to economic development.


Rear Admiral Trevor Norman JONES AM CSC RAN, for distinguished service as Head Naval People and Reputation and Deputy Chief of Navy.

Air Vice-Marshal Gavin Neil DAVIES CSC, for distinguished service to the Australian Defence Force in senior command and staff appointments.


Paul Damian BONGIORNO, for significant service to the print and broadcast media as a journalist, political commentator and editor.

Geoffrey Allan McPHERSON, Waramanga, for significant service to the multicultural community of the ACT through the provision of refugee assistance programs.

Dr Julia Catherine NEWTON-HOWES, Lyneham, For significant service to the international community through executive roles with aid organisations, and to women.

Dr Conall O’CONNELL, Watson, for significant service to public administration and governance, and to Australia’s agricultural, forestry and fisheries sectors.

David Harry SAVAGE, Conder, for significant service to international relations through roles in development aid, human rights abuse and war crime investigations, and peacekeeping.

William George (Bill) STEFANIAK RFD, Macgregor, for significant service to the community of the ACT through a range of elected, appointed and voluntary roles.


Col. Leonard Basil BRENNAN, for exceptional service to the Australian Defence Force in the field of health support as Director Health, Headquarters Joint Operations Command; Director Army Health; and Senior Medical Officer, Combined Team Uruzgan.

Col. Natasha Anne FOX CSC, for exceptional performance of duty as Chief of Staff, Headquarters Joint Task Force 633 on Operation Slipper from June 2012 to January 2013.

Lt-Col Jason Mitchell LOGUE, for exceptional service in the areas of Military Public Affairs and Information Operations for the Australian Defence Force, particularly as Senior Military Public Affairs Officer in Headquarters Joint Operations Command.

Col. Kevin Charles PACKHAM CSM, for exceptional performance of duty in the field of Defence Logistics and as Director of Operations and Training Area Management.

Air Vice-Marshal Neil Campbell HART, for exceptional service as Commander Air Combat Group and Head Joint Capability Coordination Division.


Alicia Jayne COUTTS, Macgregor, for service to sport as a gold medallist at the London 2012 Olympic Games.

Kevin Charles CROKER, Wanniassa, for service to the Catholic Church in the Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn.

Albert GREEN, Charnwood, for service to athletes with a disability.

Margaret Anne HEMMINGS, Waramanga, for service to the community of Chapman.

Rosanna Russell HINDMARSH, Red Hill, for service to the community of the ACT.

Rachel Ann HORE, Dickson, for service to the community through choral music.

Roslyn Mary JOSLIN, Mawson, for service to the community of the ACT.

Cameron James KISS, Harrison, for service to the international community through a range of humanitarian assistance roles.

Jill MADEW, Red Hill, for service to the community of Adaminaby.

Bernadine MULHOLLAND, Chapman, for service to community health as a physiotherapist.

Bryan NYE, Manuka, for service to the rail transport industry, and to the business sector.

Dr Susan Jennifer POWELL, Melba, for service to sport as a gold medallist at the London 2012 Paralympic Games.

Catriona Bowen TONACIA, Bungendore, NSW, for service to mental health through programs to address post-traumatic stress disorder.

Susan Elizabeth WHELAN, Queanbeyan, NSW, for service to local government, and to the community of the Queanbeyan region.


Commander Lewis Patrick GAHA RAN, for meritorious service as the Navy Reserve Career Manager, Elections Liaison Officer for the UN Assistance Mission in Iraq, Director of Navy Ministerial Coordination, and Director of Navy Reputation Management.

WO1 Matthew John DINGLEY, for meritorious service to the Australian Army in a variety of personnel management and force structure modernisation roles.


Local Australian Public Service recipients of the PSM include:

David Edward BANHAM; Kim Louise CLARKE (deceased), late of Aranda; Tania Joy CONSTABLE, Hall; Tony Robert COOK; Rebecca Mary CROSS, Hawker; Dr Rhondda Gay DICKSON, Yass Valley Shire, NSW; Dr Nicholas Gerrit HARTLAND, O’Connor; Ian Robert McKENZIE, Ainslie; Dr Anthony Joseph McLEOD, Harrison; Susan Lee PAGE, Monash; Dr Simon PELLING, Waramanga; Terance John PRICE, Franklin and Anthony James SLATYER, Red Hill.



One Response to “Deek and Jon top the local honours list”