It’s fair cop, as detective collars top award


Top CAT... Kevin Beatty.

Top CAT… Kevin Beatty.

A DETECTIVE with Canobolas Local Area Command in Orange has carried off the top ActewAGL Gold CAT award at the annual at the 19th Canberra Area Theatre Awards held in Llewellyn Hall on Saturday night.

The CAT judges praised Kevin Beatty for his outstanding achievements in original scripts, performance and direction for Molong Players, where, he has staged productions for the past eight years.

Among the presenters at the annual night of nights were singer and CAT stalwart, Jon English, and Network Ten’s showbiz expert, Craig Bennett.

The awards, the Canberra region’s community theatre equivalent of the Oscars, attracted theatre lovers and practitioners around NSW, not least, to the delight of chief CAT and founder, Coralie Wood, the NSW Arts Minister, George Souris.

 The full list of winners for 2013 is:

Best set and costume designers: Anne Kay, Patti Kennedy-Hine, Cate Ruth, Emma Sekuless, Miriam Miley-Read, Mia Ching & Ann McMahon, Kim Harvey School of Dance costume team, Christine Corrin, Jennifer Bond, Lauren Cunio, Rhoda Boyce & Nyla Collis; Best lighting designer: Chris Ellyard; Technical achievement: Tony Oakden, Dean Walshe, Alex Short & Duncan Henderson; “Magic Moment”: Mudgee Performing Arts Society; Best original work youth: Gundaroo Public School; Best original work, open: Rachel Hogan and Alexandra Howard; Best ensemble in a play: Canberra Youth Theatre; Best ensemble in a musical: “I Love You, You’re Perfect, Now Change”, Queanbeyan City Council; Encouragement award: Andrew Rushby and Shannon Weatherstone; Best orchestra: Free-Rain Theatre Company; Best youth actors in featured and leading roles: Mia Agius, Jack Parker, Romy Turner, Callum Bodman, Audi Reza, Nicola Hall, Daniel Greiss, Charlotte Smee, Bryson Grenfell, Kaya Byrne and Kaitlin Nihill; Best variety performances: Mary Ross & Kevin Cross and Tin Forest, Circus 35 South; Best actors in featured and leading roles: Oliver Baudert, Molly Jones, Graham Robertson, Jenna Roberts, Ron Seymour, Georgia Kollaras, Jordan Angelides, Christine Wallace; Best Choreographer (Musical or Variety): Pauline Young; Best Dance Performance: Intermediate Contemporary Team, Kim Harvey School of Dance; Best Dance Production: Kim Harvey School of Dance and Classical Ballet Centre Canberra; Best musical director/school or youth: Anita Collins; Best musical director (adult): David Wall; Best Orchestra school or youth: Combined Canberra Grammar Schools; Best director school or youth: Sophie Benassi; Best director/play: Duncan Ley; Best production/play: Canberra Repertory Society; Best production/musical: “SoPopera!”, Wollongong and Queanbeyan City Council; Best director/school or youth musical: Hannah McFadden; Best director/musical or variety show: Amy Copeland; Best production/school or youth play: “The Burning”, Canberra Grammar School; Best production/school or youth musical: Combined Canberra Grammar Schools; Best production of a variety show: SFP Productions, Wagga Wagga; Canberra Area Regional Excellence Award: Queanbeyan Players and Cowra Musical and Dramatic Society; “In The Spirit of the Community” award: Circus 35 South, Tin Forest; Best contribution (on or off stage) by a senior: Launa Boucher; Gold Cat: Kevin Beatty.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Leave your opinion here. Please be nice. Your Email address will be kept private.
%d bloggers like this: