New faces on the Heritage Council

Simon Corbell

SIMON Corbell has announced a serious rejigging of the Heritage Council.

New members have been appointed to the Heritage Council following the expiry of tenure for five of the nine current members.

“The new members would bring a range of expertise and interests to the Council, including archaeology, and conservation of objects,” Simon said.

The new members are:

  • Mr John Kenworthy, a civil engineer who will represent the property ownership, management and development sector
  • Mr Doug Williams, an archaeologist with expertise in Aboriginal culture and history
  • Dr Mary Hutchison, a historian with particular interest in Canberra’s history and heritage
  • Dr Hanna Jaireth, a legal and administrative officer with professional interest in nature conservation
  • Mr George Bailey, a conservator of cultural material.

Appointments of the current Chair, Mr Duncan Marshall, and Deputy Chair, Dr Dianne Firth and community representative, Pamela O’Neil, will continue until March 2015. The Chief Planning Executive of the Environment and Sustainable Development Directorate, Dorte Ekelund, and Conservator of Flora and Fauna, Alan Traves, are ex-officio members of the council. The appointment of a representative of the Aboriginal community is being finalised.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Leave your opinion here. Please be nice. Your Email address will be kept private.
%d bloggers like this: