Two new appointments to the War Memorial board

war memorial

Michael Ronaldson has announced the appointment of Mr Leslie Carlyon AC and Ms Jillian Segal AM to the Council of the Australian War Memorial.

Mr Les Carlyon AC is the acclaimed author of Gallipoli and The Great War and a respected former journalist at the Age, Herald and Weekly Times, receiving the Walkley Award (1971) and the Graham Perkin Australian Journalist of the Year Award (1993). He is also a former member of the Council, serving two terms from 2006 – 2012.

“Mr Carlyon has made a significant contribution to the work of the Council during his previous terms and I look forward to his continuing assistance in helping the War Memorial to increase public engagement in our proud military history. Mr Carlyon was made a Companion of the Order of Australia in June 2014,” the Minister for Veterans Affairs Michael Ronaldson said.

Ms Jillian Segal AM is a Director of the National Australia Bank, the ASX Limited, The Garvan Institute of Medical Research and Chairman of the General Sir John Monash Foundation. She is Deputy Chancellor of the University of New South Wales, and a member of the Sydney Advisory Council of the Centre for Social Impact.

“Ms Segal has a wealth of experience and knowledge to bring to the Council and I welcome her input on ensuring the War Memorial continues to be an internationally recognised and revered place of commemoration, especially throughout the Anzac Centenary period,” the Minister said.

Both appointments are on a part-time basis for a period of three years.

, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Leave your opinion here. Please be nice. Your Email address will be kept private.
%d bloggers like this: