New multicultural council named

CANBERRA is to have a Multicultural Advisory Council, which will support the implementation of the ACT Multicultural Framework 2015-2020 and planning for a Multicultural Summit in 2018.

There were 41 expressions of interest for the 15 positions on the council.

The 10 inaugural community Council members are: Ms Sandra Esam Elhelw Wright, Ms Antonia Kaucz, Ms Uieta Kaufusi, Ms Sonia di Mezza, Mr Laksman Prasad, Mr Willie Senanayake, Miss Holy Vanderpol, Mr Victor Violante, Mrs Chin Wong and Mr Kirk Zwangobani.

In addition, five multicultural organisations are represented by: Mr Darryl Alexander (ACT Multicultural Council), Ms Dewani Bakkum (Migrant and Refugee Settlement Services), Ms Nunu Johnson (Multicultural Youth Services), Ms Diana Rahman (Canberra Multicultural Community Forum) and Mr Hong Sar Channaibanya (Companion House).

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Leave your opinion here. Please be nice. Your Email address will be kept private.
%d bloggers like this: