Haynes win Drawing Prize at M16

Share Canberra's trusted news:

THERE are many people – though not “CityNews” readers of course – who are happy to relegate the art of drawing to the role of poor relative, forgetting that the world’s most eminent papers painters, not least Rembrandt, Picasso and Toulouse-Lautrec, were primarily master draughtsmen. 

Nicci Haynes with Synapse
Nicci Haynes with Synapse
Not so with M16 Artspace, which has turned itself in the last couple of years into the hub hands on art making in the national capital and not least through its annual M16 Artspace Drawing Prize, for works on paper or other surfaces using either traditional or non-traditional drawing materials or techniques.

The top prize, valued at  $1,500 and sponsored by Pepe’s Paperie (Fine Art Supplies), Canson (fine art papers)  and CAPO, went to a work by Nicci Haynes, “Synapse,” ink and graphite on mylar, and was chosen from 123 entries from interstate and local artists.

The 2012 judges, Roger Butler, Senior Curator of Australian Prints, Drawings and Books and Mark Van Veen, Associate Registrar Loans and Exhibitions from the NGA and Curator Visual Arts, CanberraMuseum and Gallery, also an M16 Artspace board member, Deborah Clark, said the breadth of work on exhibition challenged conventional ideas of drawing.

M16 Drawing show
M16 Drawing show
The formidable list of finalists whose work can be seen in the  large drawing exhibition, is Micky Allan, Kate Barker, Roger Beale, Emma Beer, Sally Blake, Carolyn Brooks, Katharine Campbell, Chris Carmody, Dorte Conroy, Jessie Cunningham-Reid, Sally Dunbar, Trevor Dunbar, Kirsten Farrell, Elizabeth Faul, Juanita Gabriel. Nicci Haynes, Kate Hine, James Cary, Richard Johnson, Paul J Kalemba, David Keany, Emma Kelly, Lansley Dolan, Patrick Larmour, Fiona Little, Natalia Ludmila, Jennifer Maclaine-Cross, Jill Mail, Jenny Manning, Peter McLean, Al Munro, Katy Mutton, Meelan Oh, Steven Patrech, Manuel Pfeiffer, Hannah Quinlivan, Annika Romeyn, Brenda Runnegar, Kathryn Scott, Adriana Seserko, Luke Shelly, Kerry Shepherdson, Aria Stone, Ria Tierney, Adam Veikkanen, Ella Whateley, Diana White and Gina Wyatt.

M16 Artspace Drawing Prize Finalist Exhibition, at M16 Artspace Gallery 01, Blaxland AvenueGriffith, until December 21.

Who Can You Trust?

In a world beleaguered by spin and confused messages, there's never been more need for diverse, trustworthy, independent journalism in Canberra.

Who can you trust? Well, for more than 25 years, "CityNews" has proudly been an independent, free, family-owned news magazine, serving the national capital with quality, integrity and authority. Through our weekly magazine and daily through our digital platforms, we constantly and reliably deliver high-quality and diverse opinion, news, arts, socials and lifestyle columns.

If you trust our work online and believe in the power of independent voices, I encourage you to make a small contribution.

Every dollar of support will be invested back into our journalism so we can continue to provide a valuably different view of what's happening around you and keep citynews.com.au free.

Click here to make your donation and you will be supporting the future of journalism and media diversity in the ACT.

Thank you,

Ian Meikle, editor

Previous articleCanberra talent goes ape for ‘King Kong’
Next article‘Just magical’ Arena
Helen Musa
“CityNews” arts editor

Leave a Reply