More than ‘face value’ in art award

Share Canberra's trusted news:

Lily Pedvin’s “Face Value.”
Lily Pedvin’s “Face Value.”
THE winning works in the 2013 Tuggeranong Rotary Youth Art Award are now on show, after Saturday’s official opening and presentation.

Sponsors, artists and their families and teachers gathered in the Tuggeranong Arts Centre Gallery at Lanyon for the announcement of the awards, long standing and well-respected competition supported by the Tuggeranong Rotary Club.

The crowd was entertained with live music from the Tuggeranong Ukulele Gang.  Minister for Arts and Young People announced that the overall winner of the main $2,000 cash prize was Lily Pedvin, for her photographic work “Face Value.”

The judges, Helen Maxwell and Paul Murray, described Pedvin’s work as “open, playful and optimistic” and also admired its sense of humour. The artist told those present that she had created the work to show subjects of different age groups, backgrounds and interests.

For this year only, the Rotary Club of Tuggeranong offered an additional $2000 Acquisitive Award for a work which fitted the Centenary theme. The winner of this award was Morgan Alexander, with her work “Grevillea Diminuta,” which, the judges felt, reflected Canberra through its depiction of the local native flower and its use of “experimental layout”. The work, they said, “encouraged a lingering exploration of meaning, unravelling the hidden clues and generating discussion.”

Detail from Morgan Alexander’s “Grevillea Diminuta” Lino print on newspaper.
Detail from Morgan Alexander’s “Grevillea Diminuta” Lino print on newspaper.
Other awards announced were as follows:

Academy of Interactive Entertainment – a Wacom Intuos 5 Graphics tablet and 2 hours of tuition – went to Connor Jens Jorgenson

PhotoAccess – three separate prizes of $250 vouchers for membership and courses at PhotoAccess went to Bryna Bambery, Tom Mendoza-Jonas and Henry Paul

CIT Centre for Creative Industries – $500 towards tuition fees at CIT went to  Riley Krewaz.

The Rotary Youth Art Award has continued to grow since its inception in 1994 and has been supported by local sponsors, critics, media and collectors. Previous winners have included Danie Mellor, Sebastian Perri, Paul Mosig, Catherine Bennetts-Cash, Hayley Lander and Imogen Paul.

Tuggeranong Rotary Youth Art Award 2013 at Tuggeranong Arts Centre at Lanyon, Tharwa Drive Tharwa, until June 23.


Who Can You Trust?

In a world beleaguered by spin and confused messages, there's never been more need for diverse, trustworthy, independent journalism in Canberra.

Who can you trust? Well, for more than 25 years, "CityNews" has proudly been an independent, free, family-owned news magazine, serving the national capital with quality, integrity and authority. Through our weekly magazine and daily through our digital platforms, we constantly and reliably deliver high-quality and diverse opinion, news, arts, socials and lifestyle columns.

If you trust our work online and believe in the power of independent voices, I encourage you to make a small contribution.

Every dollar of support will be invested back into our journalism so we can continue to provide a valuably different view of what's happening around you and keep free.

Click here to make your donation and you will be supporting the future of journalism and media diversity in the ACT.

Thank you,

Ian Meikle, editor

Previous articleSydney show for Queanbeyan artist
Next article‘Good drivers’ to be rewarded
Helen Musa
“CityNews” arts editor

Leave a Reply