New judicial appointments

coat of arms

Australian coat of arms at the supreme court

SIMON Corbell has announced a slew of appointments to the ACT’s benches.

Stephen Walmsley, Linda Ashford, Dennis Cowdroy and David Robinson have been appointed as acting judges to the ACT Supreme Court.

Margaret Hunter OAM and Dominic Mulligan, are new appointments as special magistrates while Maria Doogan and Kenneth Cush have been reappointed in that role.

The Law Society has expressed its pleasure at this move.

“The delays in dealing with civil matters in the ACT Supreme Court have been a significant concern to practitioners in Canberra,” President of the ACT Law Society Martin Hockbridge said.

“It is important that serious matters before the Court are determined as quickly as possible in order to provide efficient and just outcomes as well as closure for the parties concerned.

“It is hoped that the appointment of four experienced officers as acting judges to the ACT Supreme Court for a period of 12 months to deal with civil matters will greatly assist in easing the current backlog in matters before the Court.

“Similarly, the Society is pleased at the appointment by the Attorney-General of four special magistrates for a period of three years to assist in the management of the workload of the ACT Magistrates Court.”

, , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Leave your opinion here. Please be nice. Your Email address will be kept private.
%d bloggers like this: