Change comes to the board of the Canberra Convention Bureau

Share Canberra's trusted news:


THE Canberra Convention Bureau has announced Board changes to facilitate a new strategic direction.

Changes include the election of existing members Patrick McKenna, Hellenic Club General Manager as the new Chair and National Convention Centre Manager, Stephen Wood as the new Treasurer. Carol Mills, Secretary Parliamentary Services, will continue in her capacity as Deputy Chair.

The Board also welcomes Stephen Byron, Managing Director Canberra Airport; Malcolm Snow, CEO National Capital Authority and Tracy Atherton, General Manager Hotel Hotel.

Andrew Barr has reappointed David Dawes, Director-General, Economic Development Directorate.

Canberra Convention Bureau CEO, Robyn Hendry says that the changes strengthen the influence and importance that the Bureau holds within the ACT region economy.

“We could not have a stronger Board and combined with a really functional, accessible and beautiful city- acknowledged as a city brimming with expertise, I am excited to see what we can achieve in the coming years,” Robyn said.

“Showcasing what the city and region does well and building demand for international flights will be an important part of our mission.”

Ms Hendry says the Bureau is eagerly anticipating the commencement of the new Director of Marketing and Communications, Giselle Radulovic.

“We welcome a fresh perspective and believe Giselle’s strong credentials will complement our highly skilled marketing and events team,” said Ms Hendry.

“There are a number of changes happening at the Bureau which will strengthen and maximise our influence and offering across the ACT region.”

Other changes to the Board extend to existing Director Roles and will see Alan Williams remain on the Board as the Immediate Past Chairman.

The also Bureau noted it’s appreciation for existing Directors serving ongoing terms whose contributions uphold Canberra’s position as a centre for excellence and a knowledge hub:

  • Jure Domazet, Director Hotel Realm
  • Mikael Svenssen, General Manager Hyatt Hotel Canberra
  • Professor Ian Young, Vice Chancellor ANU
  • Barry Neame, Director Consec Conference Management
  • Jane Carter, Director Conference Logistics
  • Michael Loebenstein, Director National Film and Sound Archive

Chair Pat McKenna also extended his appreciation on behalf of the Board, to the service provided by Mark Sproat, General Manager Brassey Hotel, who stepped down after 12 years serving on the Board representing small hotels; and to Allan Williams for Chairing the Board for the last 3 years.

The Canberra Convention Bureau is a not-for-profit association with a charter to promote the Canberra Region as a business event destination by leveraging national capital attributes, city wide products and the services of our members, to meet the needs of conference organisers.

Who Can You Trust?

In a world beleaguered by spin and confused messages, there's never been more need for diverse, trustworthy, independent journalism in Canberra.

Who can you trust? Well, for more than 25 years, "CityNews" has proudly been an independent, free, family-owned news magazine, serving the national capital with quality, integrity and authority. Through our weekly magazine and daily through our digital platforms, we constantly and reliably deliver high-quality and diverse opinion, news, arts, socials and lifestyle columns.

If you trust our work online and believe in the power of independent voices, I encourage you to make a small contribution.

Every dollar of support will be invested back into our journalism so we can continue to provide a valuably different view of what's happening around you and keep free.

Click here to make your donation and you will be supporting the future of journalism and media diversity in the ACT.

Thank you,

Ian Meikle, editor

Previous articleArts / Banking on Christine
Next articleGriffiths/ Love in a harsh new world

Leave a Reply