National Institutions get new board members

national gallery

COMMONWEALTH Arts Minister George Brandis has announced the appointment of three new members to the governing bodies of the National Gallery of Australia, National Museum of Australia and National Portrait Gallery of Australia.

“Mr Ezekiel Solomon AM has accepted an appointment to the Council of the National Gallery of Australia. Mr Solomon has extensive experience in corporate law, international business and a background in supporting arts organisations to grow their philanthropic and private sector support which will be invaluable to the Gallery’s council,” George said.

“Mr Alexander Hartman will join the Council of the National Museum of Australia. A widely experienced businessman and founder of technology and digital media companies, Mr Hartman will bring his expertise in digital media operations including the digital preservation of historical artefacts, artworks and popular culture to the Museum’s council.

“Mr Patrick Corrigan AM will join the Board of the National Portrait Gallery of Australia. Mr Corrigan is a strong supporter of the arts who has made significant donations of artworks and served on numerous governing boards. His business skills and leadership in the field of philanthropy will be an asset to the National Portrait Gallery Board.

“I would like to thank Mr Solomon, Mr Hartman and Mr Corrigan for generously agreeing to share their expertise and experience in these roles for the benefit of these important national cultural institutions.

“I would also like to thank outgoing members Mr John Morse AM and Professor Emeritus Andrea Hull AO for their contributions to the Council of the National Museum of Australia and Mr Brian Robinson for his role on the National Portrait Gallery of Australia’s board.”


  • Mr Alex Hartman
    Mr Hartman is an entrepreneur, Executive Chairman of Newzulu Limited and Co-founder and Executive Vice-President of Matilda Media Pty Ltd. Mr Hartman is involved in public health services for young people and has served as a member of the Australian Industry Research & Development Board, Director of the Australian Business Foundation Limited, Advisory Board Member of Headspace and Ambassador of the Sony Foundation. Mr Hartman won the Young Australian of the Year Award for Career Achievement in 2001. He studied Law at the University of Technology, Sydney.

  • Mr Ezekiel Solomon AM
    Mr Solomon is a Senior Advisor with law firm Allens and is Adjunct Professor of Law at both the University of Sydney and the University of Technology Sydney. Mr Solomon was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia for his service to the law, the development of international trade and relations and to the arts. He currently serves on the boards of the National Gallery of Australia Foundation, American Australian Association, and US Studies Centre at Sydney University. Mr Solomon is a graduate of the University of Sydney and former Fulbright Scholar at Harvard Law School.

  • Mr Patrick Corrigan AM
    Mr Corrigan is currently the Strategic Advisor for Asean Cargo Pty Ltd, an Australian-based freight and logistics company and the chairman of the Qantas Foundation Encouragement of Australian Contemporary Art Award. He is a successful businessman, art collector and generous philanthropist with a long term commitment to the arts. Mr Corrigan has supported the industry through generous donations of works of art to cultural and collecting institutions and assisting with developing sponsorship, fundraising and grants programs. Mr Corrigan was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia for his service to the arts and holds an honourary doctorate from Bond University.

    Mr Corrigan is an avid collector of Australian art and his donation of Norman Lindsay manuscripts to the State Library of Queensland remains one of the largest donations by an individual to an Australian library. Mr Corrigan has also donated more than one thousand works of art to over forty five regional galleries and cultural institutes within Australia.

Leave a Reply