The Labor field for Election 16 unveiled

rainbow over the assembly

ACT Labor Secretary Matt Byrne says 35 ACT Labor members have nominated to contest the upcoming preselection for the 2016 ACT election.

“ACT Labor is proud to have so many dedicated and passionate Canberrans putting their hands up for preselection. It is a testament to our party’s strong values, record of achievement and democratic culture that we have such a talented field of candidates contesting these ballots” Matt said.

“Chief Minister Andrew Barr heads up the preselection field in Kurrajong with five other members looking to represent the ALP in 2016. Other incumbents who have renominated are Yvette Berry, Joy Burch, Mick Gentleman, Meegan Fitzharris and Chris Bourke.

“Voting will take place over three sessions commencing Saturday November 14, Thursday November 19 and concluding on Saturday November 21.

“More than 600 members are eligible to vote from across the ACT, members can only vote for candidates in the electorates in which they are enrolled.

“ACT Labor is proud of our inclusive and democratic culture, we are one of the few political parties in Australia whose preselections are determined solely by our members.

The candidates seeking preselection:


  • Andrew Barr
  • Vanessa Attridge
  • Joshua Ceramidas
  • Leah Dwyer
  • Richard Niven
  • Rachel Stephen-Smith


  • Joy Burch MLA
  • Mick Gentleman MLA
  • Angie Drake
  • Karl Maftoum
  • Tracey Pulli
  • Taimus Werner-Gibbings


  • Yvette Berry MLA
  • Chris Bourke MLA
  • Tara Cheyne
  • Sue Ducker
  • Kim Fischer
  • Gordon Ramsay


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Leave your opinion here. Please be nice. Your Email address will be kept private.
%d bloggers like this: