Coe takes the Liberal leadership

IN a surprise move the Canberra Liberals Assembly team has this morning elected conservative Alistair Coe as its new leader following the party’s failure at the recent ACT election.
New Liberal Leader Alistair Coe.

New Liberal Leader Alistair Coe.

Coe, the former Deputy Leader, replaces Jeremy Hanson, who became leader after the 2012 election.
Nicole Lawder, who has spent an nail-biting week to confirm her election as the third Liberal in the Tuggeranong seat of Brindabella, has been elected Deputy Leader.
“The new team is reflective of the Canberra Liberals and the Canberra community and will work to serve the people of the ACT by continuing our strong record of holding the Labor/Green Government to account,” says Coe.
Nicole Lawder

The newly elected Deputy Leader of the Canberra Liberals, Nicole Lawder.

“The Canberra Liberals will work to ensure Canberra is a place of economic opportunity for everyone. Canberra is a wonderful city and has great potential. However, we must make sure that rising costs of living, financial mismanagement, unaffordable housing and declining services do not become entrenched.”
“The Liberals will be a constructive voice in Canberra and we will propose new ideas and policies whilst holding the Government to account.
Coe thanked Hanson, who he said had led a united team and expanded the Liberal Assembly team to 11 members.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Leave your opinion here. Please be nice. Your Email address will be kept private.
%d bloggers like this: