Countback results: A success for Deepak

Share Canberra's trusted news:
Deepak-Raj Gupta.
Photo: Danielle Nohra

DEEPAK-Raj Gupta is expected to be officially elected to the ACT Legislative Assembly tomorrow (July 23) after the countback result was released today, according to ACT electoral commissioner Damian Cantwell. 

Mr Cantwell says the ACT Labor candidate for Yerrabi, Mr Gupta received a majority of preferences after Mr Fitzharris’ votes were distributed by computer count this afternoon.

Mr Fitzharris’ vacancy was unsuccessfully contested by David Pollard (Ungrouped), Justin States (Canberra Liberals), Paul Gabriel (Sustainable Australia), Tim Bohm (Like Canberra) and Veronica Wensing (The Greens).

Who Can You Trust?

In a world beleaguered by spin and confused messages, there's never been more need for diverse, trustworthy, independent journalism in Canberra.

Who can you trust? Well, for more than 25 years, "CityNews" has proudly been an independent, free, family-owned news magazine, serving the national capital with quality, integrity and authority. Through our weekly magazine and daily through our digital platforms, we constantly and reliably deliver high-quality and diverse opinion, news, arts, socials and lifestyle columns.

If you trust our work online and believe in the power of independent voices, I encourage you to make a small contribution.

Every dollar of support will be invested back into our journalism so we can continue to provide a valuably different view of what's happening around you and keep free.

Click here to make your donation and you will be supporting the future of journalism and media diversity in the ACT.

Thank you,

Ian Meikle, editor

Previous articleWill the Government deliver on its promises?
Next articleFire blazes at Gungahlin child care centre

Leave a Reply