News location:

Canberra Today 11°/15° | Saturday, September 25, 2021 | Digital Edition | Crossword & Sudoku

Local restrictions as things turn grim interstate

WITH the covid situation in regional NSW deteriorating, with cases detected in the Hunter region and positive wastewater detections in many other regional areas, the ACT government has declared 14 additional local government areas (LGAs) in regional NSW as COVID-19 affected areas.

These new restrictions mean that anyone who leaves these areas on or after 11:59pm tonight (August 5) will be required to quarantine for 14 days after leaving the affected areas or until otherwise advised by an authorised person within ACT Health.

The declared LGAs are: Armidale Regional Council, Cessnock City Council, Coffs Harbour City Council, Dubbo Regional Council, Dungog Shire Council, Lake Macquarie City Council, Maitland City Council, Mid-Western Regional Council, Muswellbrook Shire Council, Newcastle City Council, Port Stephens Council, Shoalhaven City Council, Singleton Council and Wingecarribee Shire Council.

ACT Health says the same restrictions will apply for these areas that are already in place for people travelling from Greater Sydney, Blue Mountains, Central Coast, Wollongong and Shellharbour. Further information on quarantine is available here.

Anyone entering the ACT from these areas, including returning ACT residents, must complete an online exemption form within 72 hours before arriving and enter quarantine immediately. ACT residents will automatically receive an exemption to enter the ACT and will be supported to safely return to their homes.

The exemption form will be available on the COVID-19 website from 9pm tonight (August 5).

Non-ACT residents will be unable to enter the ACT without an approved exemption.

Stay-at-home order for Victoria

The ACT government will introduce a stay-at-home order from 11.59pm tonight (August 5) for all of Victoria following the Andrews’ government’s decision to implement a state-wide, sudden lockdown.

All travellers who leave Victoria after 11.59pm tonight and enter the ACT will be subject to the stay-at-home orders, which will be in place until 11.59pm, Thursday, August 12.

 ACT Health says any ACT resident leaving Victoria after 11.59pm tonight, will be required to:

  • Complete an online declaration form within 72 hours before arriving in the ACT.
  • Travel directly to the residence where you will spend the stay-at-home period. You should only leave the residence for an approved essential purpose. The stay-at-home requirement will be in place until at least 11.59pm on Thursday, August 12.
  • You must wear a mask if leaving your premises for any of these essential purposes, except if you are undertaking vigorous exercise outdoors. Mask wearing is not required for children aged 12 or under.

Who can be trusted?

In a world of spin and confusion, there’s never been a more important time to support independent journalism in Canberra.

If you trust our work online and want to enforce the power of independent voices, I invite you to make a small contribution.

Every dollar of support is invested back into our journalism to help keep strong and free.

Become a supporter

Thank you,

Ian Meikle, editor

Share this

Leave a Reply

Related Posts


A drop in employment leads to construction delays

Employment in the ACT’s building and construction sector has slumped to 15,331, down from a high of 20,025 in May last year, according to employment data released by the Australian Bureau of Statistics today (September 24). 

Follow us on Instagram @canberracitynews