News location:

Canberra Today 3°/5° | Friday, August 19, 2022 | Digital Edition | Crossword & Sudoku

Meet Canberra’s 2022 Australian of the Year nominees

ACT Australian of the Year nominees from left: Dr Marrwah Ahmadzai, Patty Mills, Dr David O’Rourke and Dr Sam Prince.

A DIVERSITY advocating doctor, an inspirational basketballer, a hospital building obstetrician and the founder of Zambrero are among the finalists in the 2022 ACT Australian of the Year Awards.

Sixteen finalists were announced today (October 28) across four categories including ACT Australian of the Year, ACT Senior Australian of the Year, ACT Young Australian of the Year and ACT Local Hero.

The award finalists are:

ACT Australian of the Year

  • Dr Marrwah Ahmadzai – Doctor and diversity advocate
  • Patrick Mills – Basketball player and Indigenous rights advocate
  • Dr David O’Rourke OAM – Obstetrician and co-founder of Mother Ignacia Hospital
  • Dr – Doctor and founder of Zambrero

ACT Young Australian of the Year

  • Matthew Breen – Founder of Running for Resilience (Canberra)
  • Asha Clementi – Co-founder of The Girls Leadership Network (Canberra)
  • Sean Dondas – Advocate and Youth Leader, CanTeen (Canberra)
  • Jahin Tanvir – Policy adviser and multicultural youth advocate (Harrison)

ACT Senior Australian of the Year

  • Gregory Aldridge – CEO of EveryMan Australia (Canberra)
  • Anne Buttsworth PSM – Chair of the Early Morning Centre (Reid)
  • Valmai Dempsey – Volunteer at St John Ambulance (Canberra)
  • Julie Tongs OAM – CEO of Winnunga Nimmityjah Aboriginal Health and Community Services (Narrabundah)

ACT Local Hero

  • Kate Crowhurst – Financial literacy educator (Canberra)
  • Luke Ferguson – Youth support worker at The Woden School (Canberra)
  • Kelli-Ann (Kelli) Jackson – Group Leader of Women’s Adventure ACT (Canberra)
  • Rob Regent – Founder and Head Coach at Everyday Champions (Canberra)

The four award recipients from the ACT will be announced in a ceremony on Friday November 12 at the National Gallery of Australia which will also be available to watch online via livestream.

They will then join the other state and territory recipients as national finalists for the national awards announcement on January 25 next year.

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand congratulated the ACT nominees for their achievements.

“The ACT nominees share a commitment to helping and respecting others,” said Ms Brand.

“Even in pursuing their own careers and pathways, they are supporting or showing the way for others.

“It’s people such as our ACT nominees who make our world a better place.”

Full nominee bios can be viewed here.

Who can be trusted?

In a world of spin and confusion, there’s never been a more important time to support independent journalism in Canberra.

If you trust our work online and want to enforce the power of independent voices, I invite you to make a small contribution.

Every dollar of support is invested back into our journalism to help keep strong and free.

Become a supporter

Thank you,

Ian Meikle, editor

Share this

Leave a Reply

Related Posts


Overall calls out town bullies

Opponents of the Bungendore High School have been accused of trolling the new school's Facebook page, making disparaging comments about the project and its staff.

Follow us on Instagram @canberracitynews