High achievers added to honour walk

NINE new plaques have been added to Civic’s ACT Honour Walk, which recognises Canberra’s highest achievers.

ACT Chief Minister Katy Gallagher unveiled the new commemorative plaques today.

“As Canberra approaches its Centenary it is fitting to pay tribute to those who, through their commitment, determination and vision, enable Canberrans to enjoy the benefits of living in this great city,” the Chief Minister said.

The Honour Walk on Ainslie Avenue recognises individuals or groups from diverse fields of endeavour who have made a significant contribution to the ACT community.

“We have many individuals and groups to thank for the great life our city affords us, and many of them are recognised on the Honour Walk,” the Chief Minister said.

“The new inscriptions here represent several different facets of our community – health, government, city design, community advocacy, refugee activism, media, business, and sporting excellence plus extraordinary acts of bravery and human compassion on behalf of our nation.”

Those recognised for their outstanding record of achievement are:
• Dr John Buckingham
• Dr Chris Peters
• Jim Murphy
• Peter Leonard
• Val Jeffery
• Trevor Kaine
• Marion Le
• Walter Burley and Marion Mahony Griffin
• Canberra Capitals

“It is fitting to pay tribute to the commitment, determination and vision of these exceptional people who have made Canberra the wonderful place it is today, and who have enriched the lives of so many in our community,” the Chief Minister said.

The ACT Honour Walk was initiated by the former Chief Minister Jon Stanhope in 2005. There have been three series of additions to the Honour Walk, in 2005, 2006 and 2010. Today’s new additions join 50 individuals and groups recognised with plaques on the walk.

, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Leave your opinion here. Please be nice. Your Email address will be kept private.