ACAT appointments

Share Canberra's trusted news:

Simon Corbell feature crop

SIMON Corbell has announced the temporary reappointment of the General President and the appointment of four other presidential members to form the executive leadership team at the ACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal.

Simon announced the temporary reappointment of Linda Crebbin as General President for 12 months to allow consultation on a review of ACAT’s structure and jurisdiction to take place. In addition to her role as General President, Ms Crebbin will take over the functions of the Appeal President.

Mary-Therese Daniel and Geoffrey McCarthy were appointed as presidential members until December 2022, and Mr Robert Orr PSM QC and Professor Peta Spender were appointed as acting presidential members until December 2022 and February 2023.

“Ms Crebbin’s leadership and experience in issues like mental health, consumer protection and domestic violence have been instrumental in making ACAT such a valuable asset to the ACT’s justice system,” Simon said.

“As the administrative head of ACAT, Ms Crebbin has always produced outstanding results in often trying circumstances. ACAT has become a vital part of the ACT’s legal fabric and Ms Crebbin has certainly contributed to its place in our community.

“Ms Daniel has been a non-presidential member of ACAT since April 2012, having had 15 years’ previous experience as a solicitor in government and private practice.

“Ms Daniel’s strong commitment to the aims and objectives of the tribunal and her energetic and resourceful approach to her role as a tribunal member will be an asset to the executive management team.

“Mr McCarthy has been at the ACT Bar for 12 years and has extensive prior legal practice experience with the Australian Government Solicitor.

“Mr McCarthy’s highly collegiate approach to his practice will transfer well to the tribunal setting.

“His skills and personal attributes mean he will be an effective leader with a strong community focus as a member of the tribunal’s executive leadership team.

“I am confident that both Ms Daniel and Mr McCarthy will ably support Ms Crebbin in the management of the tribunal into the future. With strong leadership I look forward to seeing ACAT continue to develop and have a lasting impact on the ACT’s legal landscape.

“As acting presidential members, Mr Orr and Professor Spender will act in the role of a presidential member when the substantive members are unavailable or the Tribunal experiences unexpected increases in its workload. This arrangement will provide the flexibility the Tribunal needs to exercise its functions and resolve disputes in a timely manner.

“Mr Orr and Professor Spender are current members of the ACAT and have considerable standing in the legal profession. I have no doubt will contribute significantly to the jurisprudence of the Tribunal.”

“I’d like to congratulate Ms Crebbin, Ms Daniel, Mr McCarthy, Mr Orr and Professor Spender on their appointment and thank them for their commitment to the ACT community. I would also like to commend everyone involved in the process of these appointments.”

Who Can You Trust?

In a world beleaguered by spin and confused messages, there's never been more need for diverse, trustworthy, independent journalism in Canberra.

Who can you trust? Well, for more than 25 years, "CityNews" has proudly been an independent, free, family-owned news magazine, serving the national capital with quality, integrity and authority. Through our weekly magazine and daily through our digital platforms, we constantly and reliably deliver high-quality and diverse opinion, news, arts, socials and lifestyle columns.

If you trust our work online and believe in the power of independent voices, I encourage you to make a small contribution.

Every dollar of support will be invested back into our journalism so we can continue to provide a valuably different view of what's happening around you and keep free.

Click here to make your donation and you will be supporting the future of journalism and media diversity in the ACT.

Thank you,

Ian Meikle, editor

Previous articleRegional artists take centre stage at Museum of Australian Democracy
Next articleSocials / At Heritage Nursery’s Digger Seeds reception, Yarralumla

Leave a Reply