Sarah Avery taking the reins at the Law Society

Sarah Avery

SARAH Avery, a Senior Associate with Ken Cush & Associates, has been elected President of the Law Society of the Australian Capital Territory for 2016-17.

At 33, Sarah is the youngest lawyer to have taken the Law Society’s helm. Admitted in 2007, she has been engaged with people across the whole of the legal community and the ACT community. She was appointed senior Vice-President of the Law Society in 2015. She is also on the Pro-Bono Clearing House Panel, the Legal Aid Review Panel, the Functions Committee, and is a mentor in the Young Lawyers Mentor Program.

Sarah served as a member of the Law Society Council during 2009-2012, and has been a member of the Criminal Law Committee.

At a formal lunch following the Law Society’s AGM, Sarah expressed her appreciation to the outgoing President, Martin Hockridge, for his valuable contribution to the legal profession during his three years in office.

Other members of the newly elected Law Society Council are:

Vice Presidents

    Chris Donohue (Donohue & Co)
    Craig Painter (Snedden Hall & Gallop)


    Louise Vardanega (Australian Government Solicitor)


    Vik Sundar (Chamberlains Law Firm)


    Valerie Bradley (Trinity Law)
    Peter Cain (ACT Revenue)
    Clarissa Campbell (Chamberlains Law Firm)
    Catherine Coles (Watts McCray)
    Amy Eager (Legal Aid ACT)
    Roger Hambly (Minter Ellison)
    Gavin Lee (Arthur J Gallagher)
    George Marques (HWL Ebsworth Lawyers)
    Bronwyn McNeil (Clayton Utz)
    Phil Schubert (Blumers Personal Injury Lawyers)


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Leave your opinion here. Please be nice. Your Email address will be kept private.
%d bloggers like this: