The ACT Road Safety Fund Advisory Board announced

Share Canberra's trusted news:

traffic, feature cropped

SHANE Rattenbury has announced the first appointed members of the ACT Road Safety Fund Advisory Board.

“The ACT Road Safety Fund was established in July 2015 to fund projects and initiatives related to road safety research and education and road trauma prevention, in support of the Government’s road safety strategy,” Shane said.

“The Road Safety Fund replaced the NRMA-ACT Road Safety Trust, in light of additional Compulsory Third Party (CTP) insurers entering the ACT CTP market.

“The Road Safety Advisory Board will provide advice about the application of the ACT Road Safety Fund, including a community road safety grants program.

“The road safety contribution levied by the Government on ACT vehicle registration will be used for projects driven by the Fund. The contribution of $2.50 per vehicle will generate approximately $700,000 per annum.

“The Advisory Board is a non-statutory body, comprising an ACT Government executive as chair, nominees of ACT CTP insurers and road user representatives and road safety experts. Vicki Parker, Deputy Director-General for the Justice and Community Safety Directorate will chair the board.

“Ms Parker will be joined by Eric Chalmers, Kidsafe ACT CEO and Chair of the ACT & Region Chapter of the Australasian College of Road Safety and Station Sergeant Susan Ball, Officer-in-Charge of ACT Policing Traffic Operations as the two road safety experts on the board.

“Mr Chalmers has overseen substantial growth in both the number and collaborative nature of road safety activities across the region. Sergeant Ball has direct operational experience in road safety matters relating to enforcing traffic legislation aligned to the ACT Government’s road safety strategy.

“Dr Roderick Katz, expert road safety and active travel consultant, Jennifer Woods, President of Motorcycle Riders Association ACT and Ron Collins, Corporate Affairs and Regional Policy Specialist for NRMA Motoring and Services were also appointed to the Board as road user representatives.

“Cecilia Warren, Senior Manager of Personal Injury and Road Safety for IAG Limited and Paul Lawton, Manager CTP performance for the ACT for AAI Limited will represent the ACT’s two Compulsory Third Party Insurers.

“I’d like to congratulate each of these people on their appointment and thank them for their commitment to the ACT community,” Mr Rattenbury said. “I have no doubt the members of this Road Safety Advisory Board will contribute significantly to improving road safety in the ACT through their expert advice to the ACT Government.”

The Fund’s first community grants round will be run in 2016 with applications to be invited in the first half of the year.

Who Can You Trust?

In a world beleaguered by spin and confused messages, there's never been more need for diverse, trustworthy, independent journalism in Canberra.

Who can you trust? Well, for more than 25 years, "CityNews" has proudly been an independent, free, family-owned news magazine, serving the national capital with quality, integrity and authority. Through our weekly magazine and daily through our digital platforms, we constantly and reliably deliver high-quality and diverse opinion, news, arts, socials and lifestyle columns.

If you trust our work online and believe in the power of independent voices, I encourage you to make a small contribution.

Every dollar of support will be invested back into our journalism so we can continue to provide a valuably different view of what's happening around you and keep free.

Click here to make your donation and you will be supporting the future of journalism and media diversity in the ACT.

Thank you,

Ian Meikle, editor

Previous articleExplosion in Fyshwick
Next articleWhat’s on and where in the arts this weekend

Leave a Reply