Arts / New poets’ award in ACT Writers Centre lineup

THE ACT Writers Centre has today announced  the shortlist for the 2016 ACT Writing and Publishing Awards.


Minister for Arts and Community Events, Gordon Ramsay will announce the winners of these awards and the ACT Book of the Year at the end of year celebration, this Thursday.

The 2017 recipient of the Anne Edgeworth fellowship will also be awarded at the event, providing one young local author with up to $5000.

According to the director of the centre, Sarah Mason, the awards recognise, reward and promote works by ACT writers, but this year, in collaboration with Canberra journal, “Demos”, there will be a new award, the June Shenfield Poetry Award, for emerging Australian poets.

This year’s shortlist features emerging and established authors with works ranging from uniquely Australian children’s stories, to archaeological mysteries, to stories about women who got “cranky” and changed history.

The 2016 ACT Writing and Publishing Award’s shortlisted works are:


Jackie French, illustrated by Peter Bray, “Horace the Baker’s Horse”

Stephanie Owen Reeder, “Lennie the Legend: Solo to Sydney by Pony”

Tania McCartney, illustrated by Christina Booth, “This is Captain Cook”


L.J.M. Owen, “Olmec Obituary”

Edited by Tansy Rayner Roberts & Tehani Wessely “Cranky Ladies of History”

Shane W. Smith, “Undad”


P.S. Cottier, “Paths into Inner Canberra”

Jennifer Horsfield, “Building a City: CS Daley and the Story of Canberra”

Penny Olsen, “Australian Predators of the Sky”

James Sanderson, “Weekend Warriors: A Funny Side”


Kathy Kituai, “Deep in the Valley of Tea Bowls”

Janette Pieloor, “Ripples Under the Skin”

The Marjorie Graber-McInnis Short Story Award

Greg Burgess, “Roadwork Ahead”

Isabelo Gacusan, “Fight or Flight”

Erin Prothero, “The Abject Redemption of Athalie Roche”

Ron Schroer, “Sandman”

The June Shenfield Poetry Award

Samuel Guthrie, “brontebright”

Daniel Hutley, “Tumbleweed”

Nadia Niaz, “My Grandmother’s Language”

Hessom Razavi, “Ghost” Stephen Smithyman, “The Lumber Room”

Saaro Umar, “White Lilac (For Deb)”

The Anne Edgeworth Fellowship for Young Writers

Shu-Ling Chua

Grace Finlayson

Leearni Hamilton

Rosanna Stevens


ACT Writing and Publishing Awards, Gorman Arts Centre, Thursday, December 12.

, ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Leave your opinion here. Please be nice. Your Email address will be kept private.
%d bloggers like this: