Miles Franklin laureate to top UC reading list

A FORMER Miles Franklin award-winning novel has this morning been announced as the 2017 University of Canberra Book of the Year.

the-white-earth“The White Earth” by Melbourne author Andrew McGahan is a cautionary tale set on the Darling Downs in southern Queensland in the early 1990s, telling the story of young William, an unwell only child, whose father dies in a farming accident.

McGahan said he was delighted that “The White Earth” had been chosen as the 2017 UC Book of the Year even though six other novels have come and gone in the 12 years since it was written.

The fourth of McGahan’s novels, “The White Earth” has won the 2005 Miles Franklin Literary Award, the regional Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, The Age Book of the Year award, and The Courier Mail Book of the Year Award.

It was chosen as the 2017 UC Book of the Year by a panel of experts including award-winning Marion Halligan, University of Canberra professor Jen Webb, student Mallory Bugeja, University librarian Helen Taylor and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education) Professor Nick Klomp, who started the UC Book Project.

Professor Klump said: “We are delighted to be giving this book to all commencing students and staff, and we hope it triggers interesting discussions throughout the year.

“The UC Book Project offers another point of difference for students who choose to study at the University of Canberra.”

Previous winners of the UC Book of the Year have been “Jasper Jones” by Craig Silvey, “Room” by Emma Donoghue, “The Rosie Project” by Graham Simsion and “The Strays” by Emily Bitto.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Leave your opinion here. Please be nice. Your Email address will be kept private.
%d bloggers like this: