Williams ACT winner at Art Music Awards

Share Canberra's trusted news:

ANU School of Music Lecturer Natalie Williams was named as Instrumental Work of the Year recipient in the Australian Capital Territory Award at the 2016 Art Music Awards held last night in Melbourne.

Dr Williams’ work, “Saudade: Suite for Double String Quartet”, was premiered in April 2015 at the Musica Viva International Chamber Music Festival in Sydney by the Doric String Quartet and the Pavel Haas Quartet.

Composer Natalie Williams
Composer Natalie Williams

Winners were announced across 11 national categories and eight state and territory categories in  the only national event in Australia to acknowledge the achievements and creative successes of Australian composers, performers and educators in the genres of contemporary art music, jazz and experimental music. The event staged jointly by APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre, , the Art Music Awards were hosted by Jonathan Biggins, with musical performances curated by Gabriella Smart.

The winner of Orchestral Work of the Year was “Earth Plays” by composer Catherine Milliken, while  Paul Grabowsky and the Young Wägilak Group received the award for Jazz Work of the Year for their collaboration of “Nyilipidgi”. Kate Neal’s “Semaphore”, a complex work that combines theatrics, animation, music and dance, was named the Instrumental Work of the Year. The full list of awards can be found at apraamcos.com.au

APRA AMCOS CEO Brett Cottle announced  that the recently established Art Music Fund will open for its second round of applications in November. Earlier this year, APRA AMCOS and the Art Music Awards launched the Art Music Fund to offer $100,000 in grants specifically to support art music composers create new, commissioned works. Twelve established and emerging composers   were

AMC CEO John Davis paid tribute to those members of our music community who died over the past year— Helen Noonan (1948-2016), Roy David Page (1961-2016), Bryce Rohde (1923-2016), Roger Smalley (1943-2015), Catherine Sullivan (1982-2016), as well as our New Zealand colleague Jack Body (1944–2015).

Applications for the 2017 Art Music Fund will open in November and close in February 2017, with details available at apraamcos.com.au  

Who Can You Trust?

In a world beleaguered by spin and confused messages, there's never been more need for diverse, trustworthy, independent journalism in Canberra.

Who can you trust? Well, for more than 25 years, "CityNews" has proudly been an independent, free, family-owned news magazine, serving the national capital with quality, integrity and authority. Through our weekly magazine and daily through our digital platforms, we constantly and reliably deliver high-quality and diverse opinion, news, arts, socials and lifestyle columns.

If you trust our work online and believe in the power of independent voices, I encourage you to make a small contribution.

Every dollar of support will be invested back into our journalism so we can continue to provide a valuably different view of what's happening around you and keep citynews.com.au free.

Click here to make your donation and you will be supporting the future of journalism and media diversity in the ACT.

Thank you,

Ian Meikle, editor

Previous articleCanberrans allegedly caught up in underage web sexual imagery ring
Next articleAli King flying the Canberra flag on ‘Zumbo’s Just Desserts’
Helen Musa
“CityNews” arts editor

Leave a Reply