News location:

Canberra Today 3°/9° | Saturday, April 13, 2024 | Digital Edition | Crossword & Sudoku

Finalists announced for 2014 ACT Australian of the Year


THE National Australia Day Council has announced the local nominees for the Australian of the Year Awards:

2015 ACT Australian of the Year

  • Glenn Keys – Business and philanthropic leader (Chapman)
  • Lieutenant General David Morrison AO – Equality advocate (Griffith)
  • Anna Rose – Environmental campaigner (Canberra City)
  • David Savage AM – Aid worker and wounded ambassador (Conder)

2015 ACT Senior Australian of the Year

  • Dr Elizabeth Cameron Dalman OAM – Dancer and choreographer (Bungendore)
  • Sandra Mahlberg – Humanitarian and volunteer (Nicholls)
  • Glenn Rees AM – Alzheimer’s advocate (Isaacs)
  • Sue Salthouse – Disability activist (Chisholm)

2015 ACT Young Australian of the Year

  • Jarrett Anthoney – Brain tumour advocate (Gungahlin)
  • Dr Lachlan Blackhall – Engineer and entrepreneur (Griffith)
  • Patrick Mills – Basketballer and Indigenous community leader (Monash)
  • Kylie Ofiu – Homelessness advocate (Tuggeranong)

2015 ACT Local Hero

  • Viola Kalokerinos – Community helper (Curtin)
  • Damian De Marco – Child sexual assault campaigner (Wallaroo)
  • Robert Pastor – Educational leader (Jervis Bay)
  • Gordon Ramsay – Humanitarian (Latham)

    The 16 finalists for include an equality advocate, environmental campaigner, dancer and choreographer, homelessness advocate and entrepreneur and child sexual assault campaigner.

    From these finalists, the ACT Australian of the Year, Senior Australian of the Year, Young Australian of the Year and Local Hero Award recipients will be announced at a cocktail reception to be held at the National Museum of Australia in Canberra on Monday 3 November 2014.

    The ACT Award recipients will then join recipients from all other States and Territories as finalists for the national Awards, which will be held in Canberra on 25 January 2015.

    National Australia Day Council CEO, Mr Jeremy Lasek, said the ACT finalists are among 137 great Australians being recognised as State and Territory finalists in the 2015 Australian of the Year Awards.

    “The ACT finalists work in a wide variety of disciplines from the arts to engineering to community service and they are all doing incredible work that we can be extremely proud of,” Jeremy said.

    Who can be trusted?

    In a world of spin and confusion, there’s never been a more important time to support independent journalism in Canberra.

    If you trust our work online and want to enforce the power of independent voices, I invite you to make a small contribution.

    Every dollar of support is invested back into our journalism to help keep strong and free.

    Become a supporter

    Thank you,

    Ian Meikle, editor

  • Share this

    Leave a Reply

    Related Posts

    Follow us on Instagram @canberracitynews